Why Valentine’s doesn’t have to be the worst

Tomorrow is the Clinton Cards sellout moment of the year. Earlier I stood alongside other, similarly less prepared people in a relationship trying to find a card that would make my other half laugh.

It’s a tough choice, especially after last year’s effort where we both purchased cheese related cards. Mine said those three cheesy words, while his was pun-tastical, that probably says a lot about us.

There is a lot of expectation with Valentine’s:

  1. To look like the happiest couple in the restaurant
  2. to buy the biggest, most expensive bunch of flowers
  3. jewellery (if you’re that way inclined) or maybe some chocolates

These are the stereotypes that put people off Valentine’s. Sure, that may be what the day is for from a business perspective, but it doesn’t have to mean that for you.

As much as I hate the conceited bunch of red roses, I like Valentine’s. That may be pretty unexpected for someone who is usually so anti-corporations, but it’s true.

There’s a lot of bad in the world. The news is there (all the time where I work) to remind us that other people are suffering and sad at home and further afield. It can feel that there’s no escape.

So, in this world of sadness, it’s good to have a day where you can be grateful, and a little smug, for what you have. Even before I had someone to share it with, my family would send messages so that we felt loved.

Maybe I’d be saying something different if I was single, but I hope not. It’s nice to have a day where you can take stock of what you have and say thanks for that, it doesn’t have to be a big gesture.

For me, this Valentine’s will be spent eating some delicious food that has been lovingly prepared, followed by a chill on the sofa with our pooch to get over the food coma.

It doesn’t have to be about the presents, the roses or anything fancy, it should just be a day to say thanks for being my partner in crime. valentines

 

Leave a comment